Curriculum areas

The Curriculum has 2 stages: the broad general education (from early years to the end of S3) and the senior phase (S4-S6).Expressive Arts


The Broad General Education has 5 levels (early - fourth).

There are 8 curriculum areas:

  • Health & Wellbeing

  • Languages

  • Mathematics

  • Religious & Moral Education
  • Sciences
  • Social Studies
  • Technologies

Literacy, Numeracy and Health & Wellbeing are recognised as being particularly important - these areas are seen as being the 'responsibility of all staff.'


What is Curriculum for Excellence?  Education Scotland